I’ll wait on you

Three tellers were idle as I approached. Immediately behind me were two other folks. The Teller on the far left spoke up and said “I’ll wait on you, you have a smile on your face.”

I’m not sure what she’d been through before I arrived but with a greeting like that I wasn’t about to give her any grief. She turned out to be charming even a bit jovial. My business was transacted efficiently and I left.

In those brief three minutes two important things happened on my end of things. I apparently came in with a smile and I left with a spring in my step that was new. The other thing is I’ll feel like I have a friend the next time I go into the bank.  This might not seem like a big deal but I left better than I arrived because she took the time to say something nice. After I left I talked to several people and the smile was still on my face. I’m not how many patrons she met and made feel better in the course of her day so lets just imagine that she made 50 people feel good today. and each one of them passed it along to 4 people. That’s 250 folks feeling up lifted and each of them in turn made 4 people feel good now we’re up to 1250 people who aren’t going to go home and kick the cat.

Just one middle-aged bank teller has the power to change the world for a mess of people for a full day. What a powerful gift and it not only didn’t cost her a thing. She reaped the benefits today and for quite some time to come.

About oldelvdm16

An old guy who likes writing, loves his family and his God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment